1

Net instead of real: the results of COP26

The 26th session of the Conference of the Parties (COP) to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change ended on Saturday, November 13. Negotiations were held in Glasgow, Scotland, and lasted longer than expected. Things got particularly heated towards the end of the second week as the parties to the Paris Agreement could not agree on terminology on the main issues under discussion at these talks: the withdrawal of coal power capacity and the Sustainable Development Mechanisms (Article 6 of the Paris Agreement). The schedule of November 12 did not end the negotiations as originally planned. But thanks to a compromise that not everyone was happy with, the convention parties came to an agreement on the main points.

Фото: unfccc.int

The conference was held in person in the difficult circumstances of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The RCCI secretariat took questions about security and the conditions of delegates' participation on the eve of the conference. As a result, these talks were the most attended since the Conference of the Parties in Paris in 2015. COP President Alok Sharma even called it “the most inclusive Conference of the Parties in history,” a point with which civil society observers disagreed. Due to logistical, epidemiological, and other challenges, the representation of indigenous peoples and vulnerable developing countries was weak. But the fossil fuel industry lobby outnumbered any delegation of parties to the Paris Agreement. Also, due to conference security rules, the direct presence of observers in the negotiating rooms was severely restricted. It can be assumed that these conditions also had some impact on the negotiation process.

At the end of the second week, the most contentious point of contention among the delegates was the phrase about the withdrawal of coal-fired power capacity, a phrase whose inclusion in the Climate Pact the president of the CC set as the main goal of these negotiations. As a result, at the last minute, the negotiators accepted an amendment initiated by India - the statement became extremely blurred in meaning. Instead of the phrase "immediate phase-out," the final document contained the phrase "phase-out" and the elimination of inefficient fossil fuel subsidies. Although the reference to fossil fuels appears in official documents for the first time since the Kyoto Protocol, it is clear that this change in wording was necessary for countries in which the generation of coal and energy from other fossil energy sources occupies a significant part of the energy sector. Softening the wording calls into question the very process of abandoning coal and its speed.

In the Statement of Russian non-governmental organizations, guided by international requests from civil society and scientific data, we demanded that the parties to the FCCC COP26 adopt a coal phase-out target by 2030. Such a goal was not set in this round of negotiations, which threatens the achievement of the goals of the Paris Agreement - there is a high probability that without ambitious goals and global decarbonization of energy, it will not be possible to keep the global temperature rising within 1.5-2 degrees Celsius of pre-industrial levels.

The Climate Pact adopted at the conference also invites the member countries of the Paris Agreement to revise and strengthen their 2030 goals for reducing anthropogenic greenhouse gas emissions. At the same time, a number of countries, including Russia, declare that it is not necessary to revise the goals, arguing that it is first necessary to achieve the already established NDCs (nationally determined contribution levels).

It is important to note that the updated goals of Russia within the framework of the Paris Agreement, which the country provided in November 2020 set a goal of reducing total greenhouse gas emissions by 30% of the 1990 level. The main hitch of such a goal is that after the collapse of the USSR, GHG emissions including LULUCF in the country more than halved by 1995, and by 2017 they were 50% of 1990 levels, including forests. Experts consider Russia’s mitigation goals extremely insufficient.

Фото: unfccc.int

In general, the conference was held under the slogan of achieving carbon neutrality (net-zero) by 2050. Although all major countries have said they will reach this goal by mid-century or later, it has its pitfalls.

Carbon neutrality implies that there will be a balance in the amount of anthropogenic emissions of greenhouse gases and their absorption by ecosystems or through technology. Here we may encounter several problems. For example, it is not yet clear how this balance will be monitored and accounted for. Also, we need a structure that will verify this data to avoid mistakes in calculations. For example, when a country overestimates the absorption capacity of its forests. Civil society representatives emphasize that carbon neutrality gives a green light to fossil fuel lobbyists, who conclude that it is okay to continue mining and burning coal, oil, and gas while engaging in sequestration projects.


The commitment of countries to carbon neutrality leads to a 2.5-3 degree Celsius rise in global average temperature by the end of the century, with catastrophic consequences for humanity and ecosystems.


The problem is that forests, on which a number of countries so hope, in the focus of forest projects are a limited resource, and also quite short-lived since modern climate change is already affecting the increase in the number and area of forest fires. The second problem is that forests mainly act as carbon storage - the absorptive capacity of the oceans is much higher, but we should not rely on them either. Carbon-intensive industries require so many forests to achieve neutrality that the planet simply does not have such an amount and cannot have. The third problem is the carbon sequestration projects with carbon capture and storage technology, which energy companies plan to “green”, among others, coal. Even with a balance of sequestration and emissions, this technology does not preclude other damaging effects of fossil fuel extraction and production on ecosystems and human health.

The conference also included the signing of a declaration on forests and land use and a declaration on methane. More than 100 countries signed another forest declaration pledging to stop deforestation by 2030. The signatory countries of the methane declaration have pledged to reduce methane emissions by 30% by 2030. In 2019, methane emissions reached 390 million tons (9.8 gigatons of CO2-eq.), and the rate of emissions growth is estimated at 1.3% per year. Russia did not support this declaration, despite the president's speech at the Forum of World Leaders, where he stated the importance of addressing the problem.

The establishment of a fund that would provide developing countries with financial support for the implementation of adaptation measures was also discussed. This decision was made in addition to the Green Climate Fund, which aims to raise $100 billion annually from developed donor countries to support recipient developing countries. Developing countries, especially island nations, are already suffering the most from the catastrophic effects of climate change. Helping to deal with the consequences is the responsibility of developed countries under climate responsibility since throughout history developed countries have emitted most of the greenhouse gases into the atmosphere.

Фото: unfccc.int

In Glasgow, countries finally adopted mechanisms for international cooperation under Article 6 of the Paris Agreement, which were negotiated in Katowice and Madrid. These mechanisms include three components: transfer of emission reduction units (carbon units) between countries; transfer between projects and the so-called non-market mechanisms, i.e. a wide range of projects that do not involve trading carbon units. Experts note that we should not expect the development of extensive cross-country trade yet, now more relevant the second component - the inter-project transfer of units. The emergence of such projects can be expected in the coming years. Civil society is largely opposed to carbon markets, considering the mechanisms of trade insufficiently transparent and demanding real action to reduce emissions instead of market mechanisms.

This round of negotiations can be called particularly difficult not only because of organizational difficulties. Here were discussed mainly financial or finance-related issues: the use of carbon credits since the Kyoto Protocol in the Sustainable Development Mechanism of the Paris Agreement, mechanisms of international cooperation, additional funding for vulnerable countries through funds, abandonment of coal generation and fossil fuel subsidies, and others. The overwhelming presence of representatives of developed countries, fossil fuel companies, and the lack of meaningful opportunities for observers - especially indigenous peoples and vulnerable groups - to observe the negotiation process have resulted in a weak outcome that does not guarantee that the goals of the Paris Agreement.

Experts from the International Energy Agency believe, that with all the promises made by countries under the Paris Agreement and declarations by 2030 and 2050, humanity will still not be able to limit global temperature rise to within 1.5 degrees Celsius of pre-industrial levels by 2100. If all countries successfully fulfill their pledges, the global temperature increase will exceed 1.5 degrees Celsius and reach 1.8 degrees Celsius. With all these commitments and promises, by 2030 mankind will have produced twice as many greenhouse gases as are needed to limit the temperature rise to one and a half degrees by the end of the century.

Russian non-governmental organizations appeal to all parties to the Paris Agreement to renew their commitments to reduce emissions from all sources of anthropogenic greenhouse gases by 2030. These commitments must fulfill the goals of the agreement, i.e. lead to limiting global temperature within 1.5-2 degrees Celsius. We also call on all countries to phase out coal by 2030 and develop plans to phase out natural gas and oil capacity. We demand that fossil fuel subsidies be redirected to support renewable energy and energy efficiency and that nuclear power plants, large hydropower plants, and solid waste incineration be excluded from climate projects.

Representatives of the Russian Socio-Ecological Union attended the COP26 negotiations as observers to learn more about the position of the Russian delegation, disseminate information about the negotiations to a Russian-speaking audience, and deliver the Russian NGO Statement to COP26 to the delegation.

 

Written by Victoriia Rudenko, RSEU Climate Secretariat, Friends of the Baltic
 

 

Тип информации:

Нет-Zero и не будет: итоги СОР26

В субботу завершилась 26-я сессия Конференции сторон (КС) рамочной конвенции по изменению климата ООН. Переговоры прошли в Глазго, Шотландия, и продлились дольше, чем ожидалось. Обстановка особенно накалилась к концу второй недели — стороны Парижского соглашения не могли договориться о терминологии по основным вопросам, обсуждаемым на этих переговорах: вывод мощностей угольной энергетики и Механизмы устойчивого развития (Статья 6 Парижского соглашения). В пятницу по расписанию переговоры не закончились, как это планировалась изначально. Но благодаря компромиссу, который устроил не всех, стороны конвенции пришли к соглашению по основным пунктам.

Фото: unfccc.int

Конференция проходила очно в сложных условиях продолжающейся пандемии COVID-19. Вопросы безопасности и условий участия делегатов секретариат РКИК принимал буквально накануне конференции. В итоге эти переговоры стали самыми посещаемыми со времен Конференции сторон в Париже в 2015-м году. Президент КС Алок Шарма даже назвал их “самой инклюзивной Конференцией сторон в истории”, с чем не согласились наблюдатели из гражданского общества. Из-за сложностей с логистикой, эпидемиологической обстановкой и другими обстоятельствами представительство коренных народов и уязвимых развивающихся стран было слабым. Зато количество лоббистов индустрии ископаемого топлива превысило число участников любой делегации сторон Парижского соглашения. Также из-за установленных службой безопасности конференции правил, непосредственное присутствие наблюдателей в залах переговорного процесса было сильно ограничено. Можно предположить, что и эти условия в некоторой степени повлияли на ход переговорного процесса.

Больше всего споров в конце второй недели среди делегатов вызвала формулировка о выводе угольных энергетических мощностей — фраза, включение которой в Климатический пакт президент КС установил как основную цель этих переговоров. Как итог в последний момент переговорщики приняли правку, инициированную Индией — заявление стало крайне размытым по смыслу. Вместо слов о “немедленном выводе угольных мощностей” (phase out), в финальном документе появилась фраза о “постепенном отказе от угольных мощностей” (phase down) и об отмене неэффективного субсидирования ископаемого топлива. И хотя упоминание ископаемого топлива, в принципе, появляется в официальных документах впервые в с Киотского протокола — очевидно, что такое изменение в формулировках было необходимо странам, в которых генерация угля и энергии из других ископаемых источников энергии занимает значительную часть энергетического сектора. Смягчение формулировки ставит под вопрос сам процесс отказа от угля и его скорость.

В Заявлении российских неправительственных организаций, ориентируясь на международные запросы гражданского общества и научные данные, мы требовали от сторон КС26 РКИК принять цель по отказу от угля к 2030-му году. Такая цель не была поставлена в этом раунде переговоров, что ставит под угрозу достижение целей Парижского соглашения — велика вероятность, что без амбициозных целей и глобальной декарбонизации энергетики не удастся удержать рост глобальной температуры в рамках 1.5-2 градуса Цельсия от доиндустриального уровня.

Принятый на конференции Климатический пакт также приглашает стран-участниц Парижского соглашения пересмотреть и усилить цели сокращения выбросов антропогенных парниковых газов на 2030-й год. При этом ряд стран, в том числе Россия, заявляют о необязательности пересмотра целей, ссылаясь на то, что необходимо сначала добиться уже поставленных ОНУВ (определяемые национальные уровни вкладов).

Важно отметить, что обновленные цели России в рамках Парижского соглашения, которые страна предоставила в ноября 2020 года ставят цель снизить суммкрные выбросы парниковых газов на 30 % от уровня 1990 года. Основная загвоздка такой цели в том, что после распада СССР выбросы ПГ с учетом ЗИЗЛХ в стране к 1995-му году упали более, чем вдвое, и к 2017-му году составили 50 % от уровня 1990-го года с учетом лесов. Эксперты называют митигационные цели России крайне недостаточными.

Фото: unfccc.int

В целом, конференция прошла под лозунгом достижения углеродной нейтральности (net-zero) к 2050-му году. И хотя все крупные страны заявили о достижении этой цели к середине века или позже — у нее есть свои подводные камни.

Углеродная нейтральность подразумевает, что будет достигнут баланс в количестве антропогенных выбросов парниковых газов и их поглощением экосистемами или с помощью технологий. Здесь мы можем столкнуться с несколькими проблемами. Например, пока неясно, как будет происходить мониторинг и учет этого баланса. Также нужна структура, которая будет эти данные верифицировать, чтобы не допустить ошибок в расчетах. Например, когда страна завышает поглощающую способность своих лесов. Представители гражданского общества подчеркивают, что углеродная нейтральность даёт “зеленый” свет лоббистам ископаемого топлива, которые делают вывод, что можно продолжать добывать и сжигать уголь, нефть и газ, занимаясь проектами поглощения.


Выполнение странами обязательств по достижению углеродной нейтральности ведет к повышению среднемировой температуры на 2.5-3 градуса Цельсия к концу века, что приведет к катастрофическим последствиям для человечества и экосистем.


Проблема в том, что леса, на которые так надеется ряд стран, в фокусе лесных проектов — ограниченный ресурс, а также вполне недолговечный, так как современные климатические изменения уже влияют на увеличение количества и площади лесных пожаров. Вторая проблема в том, что леса в основном выступают как хранилище углерода — поглотительная способность океанов гораздо выше, но на них тоже не стоит надеяться. Для всех в мире углеродоёмких индустрий требуется такое количество лесов, чтобы достичь нейтральности, сколько не планете просто не существует и не может существовать. Третья проблема: проекты поглощения углерода с помощью технологии Carbon capture and storage (захват и хранение углерода), которой энергетические компании планируют “озеленить” в том числе уголь. Даже при условии соблюдении баланса поглощения и выбросов эта технология не исключает другие губительные эффекты добычи и производства ископаемого топлива для экосистем и здоровья людей.

В рамках конференции были также подписаны декларация по лесам и землепользованию и декларация по метану. Более 100 стран подписали очередную лесную декларацию, пообещав остановить обезлесение к 2030-му году. Страны-подписанты декларации по метану приняли на себя обязательство сократить выбросы метана на 30 % к 2030-му году. В 2019 году выбросы метана достигли 390 млн тонн (9.8 гигатонн CO2-экв.), а темпы роста выбросов оцениваются в 1,3 % за год. Россия эту декларацию не поддержала, несмотря на выступление президента на Форуме мировых лидеров, где он заявил о важности решения этой проблемы.

На переговорах также обсуждалось создание фонда, который будет обеспечивать развивающиеся уязвимые страны финансовой поддержкой для реализации адаптационных мер. Это решение было принято дополнительно к Зеленому климатическому фонду, цель которого собирать 100 млрд долларов от развитых стран-доноров ежегодно на поддержку развивающихся стран-получательниц. Развивающиеся страны, особенно островные государства, уже сейчас больше других страдают от катастрофических последствий изменения климата. Помощь в борьбе с последствиями — обязанность развитых стран в рамках климатической ответственности, так как на протяжении истории развитые страны выбросили в атмосферу большую часть парниковых газов.

Фото: unfccc.int

В Глазго страны наконец-то приняли механизмы международного сотрудничества по Статье 6 Парижскго соглашения, переговоры по которым велись еще в Катовице и Мадриде. Эти механизмы включают три компонента: передача единиц снижения выбросов (углеродных единиц) между странами; передача между проектами и так называемые нерыночные механизмы, то есть широкий спектр проектов, который не подразумевает торговлю углеродными единицами. Эксперты отмечают, что ожидать развитие широкой межстрановой торговли пока не стоит, сейчас более актуален второй компонент — межпроектная передача единиц. Появление таких проектов можно ожидать уже в ближайшие годы. Гражданское общество в большинстве своем выступает против углеродных рынков, считая механизмы торговли недостаточно прозрачными и требуя реальных действий по сокращению выбросов вместо рыночных механизмов.

Этот раунд переговоров можно назвать особенно сложным не только из-за организационных трудностей. Здесь обсуждались преимущественно финансовые или связанные с финансами вопросы: использование углеродных кредитов со времен Киотского протокола в Механизме устойчивого развития Парижского соглашения, механизмы международного сотрудничества, дополнительное финансирование уязвимых стран через фонды, отказ от угольной генерации и субсидирования ископаемого топлива и другие. Подавляющее присутствие представителей развитых стран, компаний ископаемого топлива и отсутствие полноценной возможности для наблюдателей — особенно из числа коренных народов и уязвимых групп — наблюдать за переговорным процессом, привели к слабому результату, который не гарантирует выполнение целей Парижского соглашения.

Эксперты Международного энергетического агентства посчитали, что со всеми обещаниями стран, данными в рамках Парижского соглашения и деклараций к 2030-му и 2050-му годам, человечество всё ещё не сможет ограничить рост глобальной температуры в пределах 1.5 градуса Цельсия от доиндустриального уровня до 2100 года. При условии успешного выполнения обещаний всеми странами рост глобальной температуры превысит полтора градуса и достигнет отметки в 1.8 градусов Цельсия. С учетом всех этих обязательств и обещаний, человечество к 2030-му году произведет в два раза больше парниковых газов, чем необходимо для ограничения роста температуры полутора градусами к концу века.

Российские неправительственные организации призывают все стороны Парижского соглашения обновить обязательства до 2030 года по снижению выбросов от всех источников антропогенных парниковых газов. Эти обязательства должны выполнять цели соглашения, то есть вести к ограничению глобальной температуры в рамках 1.5-2 градуса цельсия. Мы также призываем все страны отказаться от угля к 2030-му году и разработать планы по выводу из использования мощностей на природном газе и нефти. Мы требуем переориентировать субсидирование ископаемого топлива на поддержку ВИЭ и энергоэффективности, а также исключить из климатических проектов АЭС, крупные ГЭС и сжигание твердых бытовых отходов.

Представители Российского социально-экологического союза приняли участие в переговорах СОР26 в качестве наблюдателей, чтобы узнать больше о позиции российской делегации, распространить информацию о ходе переговорах для русскоязычной аудитории и передать делегации Заявление российских НПО к КС26.

 

Автор: Виктория Руденко, Климатический секретариат РСоЭС, АНЭО Друзья Балтики

 

 

Тип информации: